top of page
Search

Time travel anyone?

Whenever I state that I'm an end of life doula and I wish to initiate conversations about death I often get a shocked or worried reaction that the topic is too morbid for words. It's just the opposite. When we talk about the end, inevitably we end up talking about the whole of a person's life. Preparing for the end of life means we often perform a life review, a reflection of what has been important and what remains important as we near the end. It's the ultimate solo time travel as someone travels back in time to visit memories, regrets and joys, then comes into the present to tie the memories into the present. Then there is a rush forward as to what I will have been by the time I die. Yes, there is sadness but there is also great joy as people not only reflect on how important they have been to others but also how important those others have been to them. Communicating this is deeply moving and is treasured by loved ones.


Planning for the end need not be a chore. It can be a humorous, playful romp through a life lived. I encourage anyone to time travel with loved ones, you'll be amazed at what you learn.



13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page